FDIM 2023 Winners

FDIM Winners and BIG winners for 2023

Results of the Homebrew Contest
Category 100 Station Accessories
Adam Kimmerly K6ARK - 3D printed keys

Category 200 Transmitters Receivers Transceivers Power Supplies
Will Harris KI4POV - 4 band transceiver

Category 300 All Scratch Built
James Scott WB0IYC - Multi-Reflex Receiver

Category 400 Test Equipment and Construction Aids
Harold Smith AE6TI

Category 500 Antennas, Solar, and Battery Chargers
Ross Ballantyne VK1UN - Antenna Tuners

Best of Show
Ross Ballantyne VK1UN

The  2-Transistor Receiver Challenge proved a challenge to perform!  We had four entries, and it became evident early on that noise from nearby switching power supplies was preventing measurement of the actual receiver noise floor.  Consequently the RF to Audio gain of receiver was used as the evaluation criterion, instead of the original plan to measure MDS.  The outcomes of the event were:

Entrant                           Gain
James Scott WB0IYC    60 dB
Harold Smith KE6TI       59 dB
Jerry Wolczanski            -
Will Harris KI4POC        38 dB

The winner of the Begali Key was Frank Cates W5BAP
The winner of the IC705 was Jeff Tucker W9TH
The winner of the FT818/A817 package was Tim McLeod

David W. Cripe, NM0S
NM0S Electronics